A Long Wait

Greetings, anyone who has been patiently waiting for M. David Loyal to write something again. I am sorry about my long absence. In my other life, I have picked up a teaching position, and let me tell you, the first year as a teacher of seventh and eighth grade language arts is very challenging. I have not had any time to write anything aside from lesson plans since August.

I did jot down a lot of notes in a little book I keep in my back pants pocket. I was going to spend the first week or two of this summer transcribing my notes from that notebook to my various project folders in my Dropbox account. We have had a minor setback in that area. My little notebook got washed two weeks ago, and I lost everything. I have no idea of what I lost. I know that I had entire scenes written out for the upcoming Vampire graphic novel, as well as character designs for some of the characters in the Blackthorn graphic novels, and the introduction for the second novel, but I know I’ve forgotten some things, so I’ll have to re-create and figure out what to do next. I do have the next notebook started.

I’ve been re-examining what and how I want to write and share this world that has been the center of my life for the last 20 or so years, and I’m beginning to believe that the traditional way of doing book is not going to work for me at all. I love the fact that I have my first novel out – although I will share some humbling in a later post – but it’s not getting out there the way I want. I’m beginning to think I’m too much focused on the money and not enough on the sharing. Now, I’m a firm believer in keeping the copyright and control of the characters that I and the other members of the Zierath Alliance have created, and I firmly believe that if anyone should make money off of the Castle Zierath world, it should be us. The thing is, I think it’s taking too long. I’m going to explore some on-line publishing and linking the wiki page and so forth to those on-line publishing pages.

It’s time to get back into the groove of writing (in addition to planning next school year).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

