Rough Sketches of Blackthorn

Blackthorn Rough Sketch 4 by M. David Loyal

Blackthorn Rough Sketch 4 by M. David Loyal

Greetings, friends. Sorry I am two days late with my blog entry. I actually got to go and see my new classroom on Wednesday, so was quite excited by it. Time got away from me, but I did get a few things done on the Castle Zierath front.

I worked a little more on the Creation of the Vampires script and the Blackthorn Epic script, but I didn’t get any editing or drawing done. Time does disappear rather quickly, doesn’t it?

I did want to share my designs for Blackthorn. The first picture I drew of Blackthorn was drawn in the late 1990s. I created Blackthorn as part of a role playing adventure for my students. I never dreamed at that time that I would be developing a graphic novel with him as the antagonist, but here I am.

Blackthorn - Rough Sketch 1 by M. David Loyal

Blackthorn – Rough Sketch 1 by M. David Loyal

I started to re-work some of Blackthorn’s look, and so I drew him first as a ‘generic’ dragon. I have always had a certain vision of dragons – one that has limited my designs a bit, I must admit. I also must admit that I had just watched Disney’s new film Malificent, and my dragon resembled that dragon much more than I thought it would.

I then started focusing on the name. Why Blackthorn? When I pulled the name out of the hat all those years ago, I had no reason in mind for him to be called Blackthorn. I said it was just the most reasonable translation of his name from his native dragonese. It was a true ‘duh’ moment when I realized that the dragon should have a ton of thorns on him – therefore giving him his name. I then proceeded to give the dragon a lot of thorn-like growths.

Blackthorn Rough Sketch 2 by M. David Loyal

Blackthorn Rough Sketch 2 by M. David Loyal

I’m sure that he will go through several other changes before the graphic novel actually comes out, but this is the direction I’m going at this time. Any opinions out there?

Hopefully, I’ll have more to post on Monday. See you then!

Blackthorn Rough Sketch 3 by M. David Loyal

Blackthorn Rough Sketch 3 by M. David Loyal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

